Tangaroa Blue National Landcare Winner!

Eleven outstanding winners were announced in the 2014 National Landcare Awards in Melbourne on September 18th, and Tangaroa Blue Foundation was honoured by winning the Coastcare Category for the Australian Marine Debris Initiative!

The Awards ceremony took place during a gala dinner and also featured the presentation of the prestigious National Landcare People’s Choice Award – voted for by the public from amongst the impressive 69 finalists in the National Landcare Awards, and the Bob Hawke Landcare Award.

Almost 800 people packed Melbourne’s Royal Exhibition Building for the biennial celebration, which was hosted by Landcare ambassador, Catriona Rowntree, and included speeches from former Prime Minister, the Hon. Bob Hawke AC, Senator Bridget McKenzie, and the Hon. Ryan Smith, Victorian Minister for Environment and Climate Change.

The winners are a fantastic mix from across the country . They are individuals and groups who are excelling in their delivery of a range of different projects, from sustainable farm practices to Coastcare, and from Junior Landcare to Indigenous Land Management.

Congratulations to all the finalists and winners – and thank you for all your hard work, expertise and passion, which is representative of the Landcare community as a whole.

Published by